Seaton, Geissel Win Reelection

Aaron Selbig


     The Kenai Peninsula had only two contested legislative races in Tuesday’s general election – the race for Senate District N on the northern peninsula and the race for House District 30 on the southern peninsula.

     As of 11 p.m. Tuesday night, 15 of 19 precincts had reported in Senate District N and it appeared that incumbent Senator Cathy Geissel had won reelection, defeating challenger Ron Devon. Geissel has 57 percent of the vote to Devon's 42 percent. 

     In House District 30, with all 11 precincts reporting in, incumbent Representative Paul Seaton has defeated challenger, Liz Diament. Seaton collected 71 percent of the vote to Diament's 28 percent.

     Many Alaska legislative seats were essentially clinched before Tuesday’s election, including Senate District O, where Peter Micciche of Soldotna was running unopposed. Micciche upset incumbent Senator Tom Wagoner of Kenai in the Republican primary. On the House side, Republicans Mike Chenault of Nikiski and Kurt Olson of Kenai were also running unopposed.


We're on autopilot.

KBBI is Powered by Active Listeners like You

As we celebrate 35 years of broadcasting, we look ahead to technology improvements and the changing landscape of public radio.

Support the voices, music, information, and ideas that add so much to your life.Thank you for supporting your local public radio station.

Drupal theme by ver.1.4