Local, National Candidates On Today's Ballot


     Today is Election Day and Alaskans statewide are headed to the polls to cast their votes in several races.

     On the Kenai Peninsula, incumbent Republican Representative Paul Seaton is running against Democratic challenger Liz Diament for House District 30. On the north part of the peninsula, Independent candidate Ron Devon is challenging Republican Senator Cathy Geissel for the state senate in District N.

     Many Alaska legislative seats are essentially clinched, including Senate District O, where Peter Micciche of Soldotna is running unopposed. Micciche upset incumbent Senator Tom Wagoner of Kenai in the Republican primary.

     On the House side, Republicans Mike Chenault of Nikiski and Kurt Olson of Kenai are also running unopposed.

     Alaskans will also vote in the race for the state’s sole seat in the U.S House of Representatives and on a ballot proposition seeking more than 450-million dollars in transportation bonds. 

     KBBI and KDLL will be offering special election coverage today, beginning at 4 p.m. As a result, your local news will be heard an hour earlier than usual.

     More information on today's general election, including candidate information and a list of polling places, can be found at the state Division of Elections website, elections.alaska.gov.